Access Control Levels Defined

The foundation of any security compliance program in protecting confidential data and systems is via Access Control Levels (ACL), by adopting a need-to-know basis where only appropriate individuals can access certain data and systems. ACL is built on the principle of Identity Access Management (IAM), where various users in a company only have essential systemic access, on a need to basis, and just enough to get their work done.

The Regtank ACL feature enables users to set access permission levels in the system. There are 4 levels of permissions – the Administrator Level, Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3. These permission levels limit the access to data to the absolute minimum, and help mitigate the risk level and limit audits for your company.

Why ACL? 

With cases of security breaches on the rise, regulatory bodies and governments are ramping up efforts and establishing security requirements to safeguard consumers against data breaches. Growing concerns from customers about security practices are a driving force for firms to develop innovative solutions, and where ACL serves an important role as part of security compliance.

The essence of security compliance is having very few access points and limiting those who control them. Following the guideline of “allowing only appropriate individuals to access certain data and systems”, ACL helps firms remain compliant as most regulations are being established around the concept of how to protect such confidential data and limiting access.

Types of ACL

Mandatory Access Control (MAC): 

Often used in government and military environments, classifications are assigned to system resources and the operating system (OS) or security kernel. It grants or denies access to those resource objects based on the information security clearance of the user or device.

Discretionary Access Control (DAC). 

This is an access control method in which owners or administrators of the protected system, data or resource set the policies defining who or what is authorised to access the resource. Many of such systems enable administrators to limit the propagation of access rights.

Role-Based Access Control (RBAC): 

This is a widely used access control mechanism that restricts access to computer resources based on individuals or groups with defined business functions – e.g., executive level, engineer level 1, etc. – rather than the identities of individual users.

Rule-Based Access Control: 

This is a security model in which the system administrator defines the rules that govern access to resource objects. Often, these rules are based on conditions, such as time of day or location.

Attribute-Based Access Control (ABAC): 

This is a methodology that manages access rights by evaluating a set of rules, policies and relationships using the attributes of users, systems and environmental conditions.

How We Can Help

To ensure data security, organiSations must integrate access control levels into their IT environment. Learn how the Regtank Compliance Solution can help provide access control levels, user database and management tools for access control policies for your firm.

Contact us at for a demo!